Courage and support.

It takes a lot of courage to get yourself motivated to run after spending nearly a year in a mostly hate relationship with the sport. It’s a lot easier to sit on the couch and do nothing than to get in your running garb, grab your water bottle and eject yourself out the front door and hit the streets. My common excuse is ‘not enough time’. I know better. I know all the excuses. I know the game and how it’s played. But I just got to the point where I didn’t care. Not caring attributed to my not-so-sunny attitude, irritability when it came to dealing with others and thinking clearly, and disruptive sleep patterns. 

Running isn’t just about being able to run or even finish a race. It’s not really about losing weight or staying in shape. It’s just a general, overall way of life to feel better about everything. More than just fitting in my clothes (which trust me, is super important!) running exercises my mind and my soul. I feel more positive. I give back an energy into the world that is charged with cheer instead of negativity. My outlook for the future is sunnier. I feel like I can do anything I set my mind to. My family will only benefit from the better me. It’s not say I won’t have disappointing days or never face another obstacle. Running allows me to have the clarity to deal with those situations differently, positively, instead of always focusing on the negative. I’m fortunate to have such great support in my circle that encourages me to keep going, raise the bar, and never think ‘I can’t’. 

Grab a pair of kicks and hit the bricks.

Leave a Reply

